How To Save Loads Of Time After A Windows Update

toggle-button

Windows updateWhen Windows 10 installs an update, only a small amount of the work is done during the installation of the patches. Much of the update only happens when you first log into your computer after the update has been installed. It's a well documented problem. Your PC installs updates during the night, and when you log in the next morning it can take up to half an hour or more before your desktop actually appears.

To help avoid this, there's a setting on your PC that you can change. Go into the control panel, look for the updates-related settings, and choose Advanced Options. Then look for the option "Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update". Tick to select it.

With this option selected, Windows will automatically log into the computer on your behalf after an update has been installed, in order that the remainder of the update process can be completed. So when you come to use the machine yourself, everything is ready to go.

If you're still waiting for your computer to receive the Creators Update, change this setting now. It'll make things a lot faster when the update does arrive.

Please rate this article: 

Your rating: None
3.23077
Average: 3.2 (13 votes)
toggle-button

Comments

Rob:

Thank you, thank you, thank you! Personally, I use these kinds of delays as a good reason for a coffee or snack break. My significant other, however, gets angry at yet another waste of time caused by the !@$#!! computer and lets me know about it, expecting me to somehow fix it. Thank you so much for at least one more quiet evening!

Hi, I'm in the Philippines. I am waiting for my Windows 10 Creator's Update. I read this article yesterday and this morning when I opened my laptop, there was a notification saying that I should give permission to enable some features so when my Creator's Update is ready, it will install faster. One of the features was sending data to Microsoft to better UI. After I agreed to its Uac, yes. It prompted me twice but the UAC had this UPUXWORKER as it's origin of uac. Is that malware? This is the first time that I have seen this UPUXWORKER in the uac since I first encountered the uac in Vista in 2008. Is this from Microsoft Philippines? Has anyone seen this UPUXWORKER once they have clicked yes to the uac giving permission to Microsoft for the Creator's Update? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

To my surprise, this option is available even on computers set up using local accounts, rather than a Microsoft account.
Source: http://www.thewindowsclub.com/log-automatically-after-windows-update.

It is not actually in the control panel... go to "settings", then "update & security" and you'll find it there